Facts about Slovakia

Central Europe


Parliamentary republic




49,035 sq km

CET / GMT+1.00


Žilina Region

Seat: Žilina
Area: 6,808.4 km²
Population: 694,763
Density: 102 /km²
Districts: 11

Žilina Region is situated in the north-western part of Slovakia and is divided into 11 districts: Žilina, Bytča, Kysucké Nové Mesto, Čadca, Martin, Turčianske Teplice, Ružomberok, Liptovský Mikuláš, Dolný Kubín, Tvrdošín a Námestovo. Its northern part is bordering with Poland and north-wester part is bordering with Czech Republic. The natral borders are formed by mountains of Western Tatras, Orava and Moravsko-Sliezske Beskydy and Javorníky.

Natural Conditions of Žilina Region

Žilina District is variable with significant altitude differences producing humid and cold climate. Its geological structure was moulded by distinct evolutionary processes from the Palaeozoic to the Quaternary eras. Western Carpathians (Outer Carpathians) and the internides (Central and Inner Western Carpathians) are formed by flysch, schist and klippen zones with Neogene basins. Žilina District territory consists of Žilina, Liptov, Turčianska and Orava basins surrounded by impressive mountain ranges. The Váh River forms a hydrogeological central line of this cool mountainous region, taking on several important tributaries: Orava, Kysuca, Belá, Revúca, Turiec, Rajčianka, etc. Orava and Liptovská Mara dams are not only popular tourist destination but also serve to control water level in the Váh River. The soil type depends on the region. Brown forest soil is the most common type in the Žilina District. Rendzinas can be found on limestones and dolomites in Lesser and Greater Fatra Mountains, clay soils in Žilina Basin and higher situated zones in Tatra Mountains are characteristic by podzolic soils. The exceptional beauty and rareness of the Žilina District is underlined by tens of protected areas extending on its territory: TANAP- High Tatras National Park, NAPANT- Low Tatras National Park, Lesser Fatra, Greater Fatra and Súľov Rocks, Kysuce and Chočské Mountains protected landscape areas.

Žilina Region is divided into 11 districts:

HomeContactTourist GuideDisclaimerReviews