Facts about Slovakia

Central Europe


Parliamentary republic




49,035 sq km

CET / GMT+1.00


Administrative Division of Slovakia - Regions

In the past, from 13the century till 20th century Slovakia was divided into counties (župy, stolice). In 1960 the counties were formed into regions – Western Slovak Region, Central Slovak Region and Eastern Slovak Region. In 1996, Slovakia was divided into 8 regions (Higher Territorial Units) with 79 districts. The formation was based on social-economic situation. There are 2922 municipalities in Slovakia including all Bratislava municipalities and Košice municipalities as individual entities. .

In the past, the regions of Slovakia were named according to ethnographic or natural specifications. Thus regions as Gemer, Šariš, Spiš, Zemplín, Tekov, Orava, Kysuce, Ponitrie, Liptov, Považie, Záhorie etc were formed. Nowadays, every region has its own specific natural, human, traditional or folklore characteristics.

Administrative dividion of Slovakia is formed by 8 regions:

Region Area/ km² Inhabitants Density /km² Districts
Bratislava Region 2,052.6 603,699 249 8
Trnava Region 4,174.2 554,172 133 7
Trenčín Region 4,501.9 600,386 133 9
Nitra Region 6,343.4 708,498 112 7
Žilina Region 6,808.4 694,763 102 11
Banská Bystrica Region 9,454.8 657,119 70 13
Prešov Region 8,974.5 798,596 89 13
Košice Region 6,751.9 771,947 114 11

Slovak regions have been formed around the biggest cities in Slovakia. There are specific differences between Slovak regions in population, density and age. For instance, Banská Bystrica Region is the largest region in Slovakia and Bratislava Region is the smallest region with the highest density. Košice Region has the highest population and Trnava Regions has the smallest population. Levice is the largest district and Banská Štiavnica is the smallest district of Slovakia.

List of Districts in Slovakia and car plates.

  1. See also City distances in Slovakia

HomeContactTourist GuideDisclaimerReviews